The Day of a Lost Friend

We went to the beach one of those old, cold days,
trying to fix why he fell in disgrace,
we wandered, we pondered, we battled a lot,
about our friendship, which he madly forgot.

Yes, he took her away and, indeed, he was really in love,
but I didn’t care, his words sounded like the last coughs
of a traitor, a man who I could nevermore trust
“Our bond“, I told him, “it is crushed“

And we stood there, aware times ended when we felt near,
our feet rooted in the frosty sand of the beach,
as a furious wave sucked him into the mere,
then he cried for help, but I just watched his face bleach.

Later they asked me, „Why did you not lend him a hand?“,
out of reference I avoided replying that he sure was no friend,
so I lied, and I cried, and I swallowed my ressentment,
but I didn’t reply that he sure was no friend.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Eingeordnet unter Gedichte

Kommentar verfassen

